Thursday, 5 September 2013

Thailand - Bangkok

Bangkok is the Capital and the most populous city of Thailand. The City occupies 1,568.7 sq km in the Chao Phraya River delta in Central Thailand, and has a population of over 8 million.

The Asian Investment Boom in the 1980s and 1990s led many multinational corporations to locate their regional headquarters in Bangkok. The city is now a major regional force in Finance and Business. It is an International Hub for Transport and Healthcare, and is emerging as a regional centre for the Arts, Fashion and Entertainment. Bangkok is among the World's Top Tourist Destinations. 

The city of Bangkok is locally governed by the Bangkok Metropolitan Administration (BMA). The BMA uses several schemes to organize the districts into groups for administrative and general planning purposes. 

The scheme adopted in 2004 uses 12 characteristic groups:

1. Rattanakosin cluster - Historic conservation, Administrative, Traditional retail and Cuitural Tourism areas
2. Lumphini cluster - Central business, Commercial and Tourism areas
3. Vibhavadi cluster - Employment, Retail and Service and High-density Residential areas
4. Chao Phraya cluster - Emerging Economic Areas
5. Thonburi cluster - Historic and Cultural Conservation and Tourism areas
6. Taksin cluster - Emerging Employment and High-density Residential areas
7. Phra Nakhon Nuea cluster - Residential areas; Transition Zone for Potential City Expansion
8. Burapha cluster - Residential areas; Transition Zone for Potential City Expansion
9. Suwinthawong cluster - Agriculture and Residential Areas
10. Sinakharin cluster - Suburban Community Centre areas
11. Mahasawat cluster - Agriculture and Residential areas
12. Sanam Chai cluster - Agriculture, Industrial, Residential and Ecological Tourism areas